“To Hammer The Alarm” by Lauren DiGioia Dedicated to Bradley Manning



Video streaming by Ustream

What would you do, with horrors that you knew?
With the innocent that haunt memory?
Would you be willfully blind, bite the tongue and your own hands bind?
Would you choose to be just as cruel?
I have fought, endured, suffered and survived
I am one human, not the only denied my granted unwavering rights
I come before you, Sir, to receive the offer, and the sheath you will have me cast
“I am to blame! I am ashamed! It’s all from a troubled past…”

I know what I did was right, I know what continues is wrong
The knife to my back was forged on genocide
I stole it to hammer the alarm

Please don’t hate me for the words on my lips
I held firm stood tall but the knife it is ready and waiting for my back
I love my country, all its people, who knew no better under a steeple
Worshiping the god of security
I hope you all read in between the lines, of what will be seen as apologies I
Know for all we’re fighting for
So take me now like encrypted code, find the answer in your soul
Take a look around for me
In this time war is still a racket, still a crime sewn on a jacket
I love you please don’t let it end this way

I know what I did was right, I know what continues is wrong
The knife to my back was forged on genocide
I stole it to hammer the alarm

I learned the hard way how your fear, is crafted, molded, engineered
And I may take that lesson to the grave
I’m sorry I must lie to you, after all some have tried to do
To clear my name and spread a scarier truth
They hand the knife to me now, the truth before me, held down
I raise the blade… has god forgave me for giving in
To those who wish to cage me?
I’ll keep it’s body and what the truth gave me
Revelations start to bleed
The truth in here shall be my pillow, shall be my blanket, a graceful willow
To shade the light shining constantly
It will be my love, my company, as all else is stripped away from me
I’m sorry with you I can no longer be…

I know what I did was right, I know what continues is wrong
The knife to my back was forged through genocide
I only stole it to hammer the alarm
To hammer the alarm.

6 thoughts on ““To Hammer The Alarm” by Lauren DiGioia Dedicated to Bradley Manning

  1. LOVING “The knife to my back was forged on genocide
    I stole it to hammer the alarm”
    This is Fabulous, Lauren, and it’s right on time

  2. Lauren, the tears flowed as I heard your poignant song, the words so powerful, the melody so haunting and beautiful. I hope Bradley gets to hear this incredible tribute of yours.

    When you and Jak visit, I’m going to hug the stuffing out of you. You did an incredible thing Sweetie!!! Absolutely incredible!! ♥ ♥

  3. Pingback: To Hammer The Alarm !!! A Must Listen !!! | theonlynewsman

Leave a Reply

